A Message from NAACP Branch President Tommy Kilgore

Photo credit: Transylvania Times

We’ve had a good year.  We’ve had our ups and downs and we’ve been involved in a large number of events—we’ve had so much going on this year.  I want to give my heartfelt thanks, not just to the Executive Board, but to every member of our branch.  I want to send a holiday cheer out to everyone, and to thank each and every one of you for the hard work that you have done, as volunteers.  Thank you to each and every one of you. Have blessed and happy holidays, and for those of you who have to travel, be safe.  And please, be energized, so that when we come back on January 1st, we will hit the ground running again, as we always have.


Join us each Monday at the courthouse from
4 pm to 5 pm

In the event of winter weather, we will be following the public school closures. If Transylvania County Schools are closed, we will not have Moral Monday. Otherwise Moral Monday is rain or shine!

This is our time to bring our community together, to stand and speak and sing with one voice our commitment to community with an emphasis on unity, to equity and justice for all and to love over hate.

Join us, help spread the word and keep in touch via our Facebook page, our website and consider joining the Transylvania NAACP.

Join us on our next 

General Membership and Executive Committee: Meets via Zoom 2nd Monday of every month at 6:30 p.m. 
All are welcome!  
Our next meeting is Monday, Jan. 10 at 6:30 p.m. at on Zoom. The link will be posted close to the meeting.

JOIN US IN 2022!

What better time than now to contribute your energies to your Transylvania NAACP?

First of all, join us for our monthly meetings. All are welcome! 

As we enter a new era for our city, county, state and nation, we need your help! Now is the time when we can truly create change. Click here to join a committee.

All committees would appreciate new members and new energy. There are lots of plans afoot and lots of space for your ideas.

Here’s a listing a committees and a very basic idea of what they’re up to right now. All committees are meeting on Zoom for the time being.

Education: Addresses racial disparities in education, supports students and teachers of color, assist in education on racial issues. Chair is Sheila Mooney. Meets the first Tuesday of the month at 4 p.m. Contact: Roberta Miller, rmillerisme@gmail.com for the link.

Political Action: Coordinates local political actions, advocates with local, state and national lawmakers, partners with similar organizations in advocacy work. Meets the first Wednesday of every month at 5:30 p.m. on Zoom. Contact chair, Kathleen Barnes,  kathleen@kathleenbarnes.com for meeting link.

Religious Affairs: Brings a religious and spiritual tone to our work. Plans for this year include Time to Talk and Time to Listen series on some of the most contentious issues facing our community today and finding ways disparate communities can learn to communicate and find common ground. Meets the second Tuesday of every month at 5 p.m. Chair is Rev. Carter Heyward. Contact: iscarhey@gmail.com for the meeting link.

Youth: Is still being organized. If you’d like to join, please contact us at transnaacp@gmail.com.

President of the United States:

Joseph R. Biden (D): 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington, D.C. 20500; 202-456-1111 www.whitehouse.gov/contact; E-mail through website. 

U.S. Senate:

Sen. Richard Burr(R): 217 Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510; 202-224-3154; 151 Patton Ave., Suite 204, Asheville, NC 28801; 828-350-2437. Email via Website: https://www.burr.senate.gov/ ;E-mail through website

Thom Tillis (R): 185 Dirksen Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510; (202) 224-6342; 1 Historic Courthouse Square, Suite 112, Hendersonville, NC 28792 (828) 693-8750; Website: https://www.tillis.senate.gov/; E-mail through website

U.S. House of Representatives:

Madison Cawthorn (R): 102 Cannon House Office Building, Washington, DC  20515Phone: (202) 225-6401
Website: https://cawthorn.house.gov/contact/offices
E-mail: cawthorn.house.gov
NC Governor:

Roy Cooper (D): 20301 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-0301; (919) 814-2000; Website: http://governor.nc.gov/contact-governor-cooper; E-mail through website.

NC Senate:

Chuck Edwards (R-Hendersonville) 337 N. Main St., Hendersonville, NC 28792(828) 214-5700, Website: http://www.chuckedwardsnc.com/

NC House of Representatives:

Jake Johnson (R-Polk), 300 N. Salisbury Street, 602Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

Transylvania County Commission:
Jason Chappell (R): P.O. Box 521, Rosman, NC 28772; 828-862-6679 (H). Jason.Chappell@transylvaniacounty.org.

Jake Dalton (R): 101 South Broad Street, Brevard, NC 28712, 828-884-3100  jake.dalton@transylvaniacounty.org

David Guice (UNA): David.Guice@transylvaniacounty.org

Larry Chapman (R): larry.chapman@transylvaniacounty.org

Teresa McCall (R): teresa.mccall@transylvaniacounty.org
Transylvania County Board of Education:

Tawny McCoy (R-chair): 1564 Cashiers Valley Rd., Brevard, NC 28712; 828-884-5015 (H); tmccoy@tcsnc.org

Ron Kiviniemi (D): 28 Big Rock Rd., Pisgah Forest, NC 28768; (828) 884-4489; rkiviniemi@tcsnc.org 

Courtney Domokur (R): 121 Rocky Hill Overlook Drive, Brevard, NC28712; 330) 714-4414; cdomokur@tcsnc.org

Marty Griffin (D): P.O. Box 1023, Brevard, NC 28712; (828) 883-8707: martyg@tcsnc.org

Kimsey Jackson (R): 351 Windover Dr., Brevard, NC 28712
(828) 508-2540: kjackson@tcsnc.org

Brevard City Council:

Mayor Maureen Copelof: 
828-862-5898; maureenlcopelof@cityofbrevard.com

Gary Daniel: Mayor Pro Tem:
828-862-3587; gary.daniel@cityofbrevard.com

Mac Morrow: 828-885-8444; mac.morrow@cityofbrevard.com

Maurice Jones: 828-883-3200; maurice.jones@cityofbrevard.com

Geraldine Dinkins:
828-884-2200; geraldine.dinkins@cityofbrevard.com

Aaron Baker: aaron.baker@cityofbrevard.com

If your newsletters are going into your spam folder, add Transylvania NAACP to your contacts list with the e-mail address transnaacp@gmail.com

Find us online.
On Facebook
E-mail us.
Snail mail us at:
PO Box 303, Brevard, NC 28712